· 

1 Week in the US - New Year's in Rhode Island

A few days after I had spent Christmas with the chicas in Punta Cana, I flew to the US, to Boston, to visit my boyfriend and his family in Rhode Island. 

I couldn't believe that I was actually going to experience

a real winter during my year abroad! 

I was so excited despite I was really cold the first few days. 

We tried to do as much as we could during this week and it was beautiful!

Especially, because we got to celebrate New Year's together.

We went ice skating, did bumper cars, went to the mall, to food places, to Starbucks, to a Christmas festival with a Christmas crib

("La Salette Shrine") with enormous Christmas lights...

I really enjoyed every minute of it!

I felt amazing and super happy but at the same time I had this feeling like I was in a dream because it was a huge difference to where and how I

have lived the past months in Samaná (DR). Two different worlds.

Also, I realized what habits I already had adapted to in the D.R.

(like throwing the toilet paper into the bin instead of into the toilet

or the cold showers and laundries, the loud music everywhere,

the limited food products...)

And I have to say it was a little hard for me on the day I had to fly back

and I was having a rough time as soon as I got back.

I was literally emotionally confused;
Relieved to be home after such a long day but super sad about having left!!!

 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0